Bottlehead Forum Bottlehead Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Now taking orders for the Tode, Bottlehead's new guitar amp kit!
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: forum redirects to malware site?  (Read 845 times)
0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.
Armaegis
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 63


View Profile
« on: July 22, 2011, 12:58:44 PM »

So I was reading the forums and suddenly this popped up when I clicked on this link: http://www.bottlehead.com/smf/index.php/topic,1841.0.html
(I don't remember which one that was, but it was in the gallery subforum)

Warning: Something's Not Right Here!
www.bottlehead.com contains content from www.fam-bruinsma-wilken.com, a site known to distribute malware. Your computer might catch a virus if you visit this site.
Google has found that malicious software may be installed onto your computer if you proceed. If you've visited this site in the past or you trust this site, it's possible that it has just recently been compromised by a hacker. You should not proceed. Why not try again tomorrow or go somewhere else?
We have already notified www.fam-bruinsma-wilken.com that we found malware on the site. For more about the problems found on www.fam-bruinsma-wilken.com, visit the Google Safe Browsing diagnostic page.


I'm on Windows Vista and using Chrome as my browser.
Logged
Doc B.
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1860



View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2011, 01:08:52 PM »

I'm not getting any warning on my browser and I don't see any link to the fam-etc. on that page. Not sure what is up.
Logged

Dan "Doc B." Schmalle
President For Life
Bottlehead Corp.
Grainger49
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3073


Audio Cheapskate


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2011, 05:35:15 PM »

The redirect is a virus you got at another site.  I went through this about 9 months ago.  It can take some serious digging.  When I had it I could not Google anti-virus sites.  Those all got redirects.
Logged

Grainger Morrison,

Mozzie quote: Sacred cows make the best hamburgers!

Remember, YOU are the only one who needs to be happy with the sound of your system.

Eros (Mods Have Begun!)/FP-2/Paramour 1/upgrades to all - PS Audio Regenerator, Triangle Zerius Speakers, BA Sub
Armaegis
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 63


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 22, 2011, 07:21:31 PM »

Hmm, any idea how to identify and remove it? I've got MSSE running and it hasn't flagged anything recently.
Logged
Grainger49
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3073


Audio Cheapskate


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: July 23, 2011, 04:53:07 AM »

Armaegis,

I have a computer guy because I'm pretty ignorant.  He did it from home logging on to the computer.  He went into some of the files from a DOS window and edited some of the Windows files.  The virus has already rewritten this file so it needs to be un-edited. 

I watched what he was doing and understood what was going on.  But I didn't get the file name of what he was working on.  He had to save a copy of the file, edit it then replace the active file with the edited copy.
Logged

Grainger Morrison,

Mozzie quote: Sacred cows make the best hamburgers!

Remember, YOU are the only one who needs to be happy with the sound of your system.

Eros (Mods Have Begun!)/FP-2/Paramour 1/upgrades to all - PS Audio Regenerator, Triangle Zerius Speakers, BA Sub
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.10 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!